What the Heck are Ben Wa Balls?

by

What the heck are Ben Wa Balls and what are they for, anyway?

They’re ¾” gold-plated metal spheres inserted vaginally to improve muscle tone. What do they do? Common question! Some women admit to getting talked into buying them by their girlfriends after a late night jaunt to the local “naughty” store after one too many Pina Coladas. They take them home only to find, egad, no instructions! Those little golden orbs (not to be confused with Chinese meditation balls) then end up either as “show and tell” in little Johnny’s class after he finds them in the garbage can or they’re discovered by your grandchildren in your jewellery box after you’ve passed on. Not pretty.

Let’s dispel a myth. They don’t do much all by themselves. If you insert them and wait with bated breath for magical, mystical sensations to start the creation of heaven in your loins, you’ll be disappointed. They don’t vibrate or move on their own so don’t even go there. They aren’t a get-rich-quick plan. They’re more like a slow and steady wins the race idea.

Let’s cover the basics starting with who should use them. Women who’ve been diagnosed with stress incontinence who want to try a non invasive option to surgery, women who are experiencing periodic bladder leakage during a coughing fit or sneezing or laughing a lot, pregnant women who want to strengthen pelvic muscles in preparation for childbirth, women who want to regain the vaginal canal strengths they had before childbirth or women who want to improve their orgasm can all benefit. In my opinion, that last one means every woman should give it a go!

Now for some precise instructions. Basically, you insert them into your vagina and squeeze your PC (pubococcygeal) muscle to keep the balls in. The PC stretches from your tailbone to your pubic bone and simply stated, it keeps your pelvic organs (bladder, uterus, vagina and rectum) from slipping out at the most inappropriate time! While this is the muscle used to stop urine flow, you shouldn’t do that regularly since that messes with the sophisticated system that is urination. A toned PC muscle can prevent extraordinary embarrassment.

The balls are quite heavy and designed to be difficult to keep inside you. When you’re first practicing, always wear your panties! You don’t need to test your new wood floors or your ceramic tile to see how resistant to dents and cracks they are! You also don’t want kitty to decide they’re more fun than chasing a mouse as they tumble down the stairs-plonk-plonk-plonk.

Please let me assure you, they won’t get lost! Once they’re snuggled away inside you, there’s nowhere for them to go except into your cervix, and unless there’s something quite unusual about you, that’s just too darned tiny of an opening. If you find yourself tensing up because you can’t find them, (which is probably why you can’t find them-because you’ve tensed up) they’ve probably just tucked themselves into one of the nooks and crannies you were born with and they’re in for the night. You can pop in a DVD or listen to a CD of relaxing music as you lay back on the couch. As soon as the credits roll or the last song is played, stand up and do a quick panty check. You’ll probably find your two golden friends there waiting for a bath.

Specifically, build up to the point where you can run up and down a set of stairs 3 or 4 times without your Ben Wa Balls slipping out. Some of you may say that the stairs alone would be an achievement and you’re right. You get into shape as a bonus!

If you’ve had natural childbirth, you may not be able to keep them in. Start by laying down flat, inserting them and simply noticing how they feel as you tighten your PC muscle. Squeeze for 4 seconds and relax for 4 seconds. Work up to doing that 10 times and call that one set. Build up to doing 3 sets a day of 10 seconds squeezing and relaxing. Always match the squeeze time with the relax time. This may take 6 or 8 weeks, but done daily, you WILL notice a difference. Do it in stages graduating from laying down to standing on your knees to walking across the room to doing your housework and maybe all the way up to jogging with them in.

Isn’t it time to get control of your body?

If you want to find out more about how to protect your pelvic floor health, go to http://www.bladderfreedom.com

40 Responses to “What the Heck are Ben Wa Balls?”

  1. Sue Says:

    Any chance there’s a diagram of how to insert the ben-wa-balls? I mean seriously, how deep do you put them? I know VERY little about the female body…didn’t do well in biology in school, though my husband knows tons I’d rather NOT have him putting these things in me … so I’d like to figure this out myself! Thanks.

    • kimswitnicki Says:

      Hi Sue

      You simply put them in with your fingers and squeeze your pelvic floor muscles to keep them in. Your vagina is only about 4 inches deep so you only need to place them inside the opening so they don’t fall out. They can’t go anywhere so just ensure they are comfortable. Does this help?

      Kim

  2. Cyn Says:

    Should we begin with one and work up to two? Will one strengthen muscles?

  3. Amanda Says:

    I used to work as a sex toy consultant, doing parties and selling products. Ben Wa Balls are a fantastic item. They make your vagina tighter and strengthen all the muscles in that area, that are otherwise a bit difficult to work out. Start with one you can’t hold both of them in. No need to be a hero your first time, start by sitting and after a couple of days start to stand up. You can work up to wearing them for quite a long time, and even during intercourse to enhance both you and your partner’s experience.
    I have had clients that have worked up to wearing them and holding them in while they sit to pee. Quite impressive for pelvic floor muscles!

  4. Vicki Says:

    Are they safe to use if I have had a total hysterectomy? They won’t get lost up there, will they?

    • kimswitnicki Says:

      Absolutely not! There is no where for them to go except up your cervix and the cervix is too small. Never any worries that they will disappear. Just relax and they will come out or scoop your finger in the grab them.

  5. Anna Carruthers Says:

    How do Ben Wa balls compare to Duotone balls? Can both balls be inserted during intercourse, or will it be too “crowded” in there? I think if the sole purpose is to strengthen PC muscles then Kegel Exercises are less complicated.

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks, for all the information I thank it will be very useful.
    wish I had did this sooner.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    If you had your cervix removed when you had your hysterectomy are they safe to use ? I’m afraid to use them.

    • Sal B Says:

      Anonymous,
      I am wondering the same thing. But I also think that the DR sealed it all up when he was in there, right? I mean, he cant just leave a gapping hole so it should be safe, right? Anyone know for sure?

  8. shareka Says:

    i used mines for the first time today and one came out but the other is still there should i be worried and is it safe to have intercourse even tho i cant find it

  9. i orgasm Says:

    i orgasm…

    […]What the Heck are Ben Wa Balls? «[…]…

  10. Anonymous Says:

    I just put mine in for the first time. I put them all the way up and they are just staying there. I don’t even have to squeeze my muscles to keep them up. I am just sitting so should I start doing actual exercises to test this? I’m wearing them for urine incontinence but I can’t even really tell they are in there.

    • Anonymous Says:

      I just bought these recently and have inserted them as well and is having the same effect as you are. I dont feel like they’re working. I have had a child, but seem to not feel them inside me and they dont feel like they want to come out wile moving around or walking. Help? Any explanation would be great.

  11. Adult Incontinence Products Says:

    Adult Incontinence Products…

    […]What the Heck are Ben Wa Balls? «[…]…

  12. honeypie37 Says:

    If you’ve had a total hysterectomy I would use smart balls or ben wa kegel balls by climax, or any duotone balls with a safety string for retrieval. I saw that the above answer to the question of “can I use them if I’ve had a total hysterectomy?” was answered with a yes, because the cervix will stop them from going any further. Well, with a total hysterectomy, you no longer have a cervix, or a uterus – yeah, real ben wa balls could get lost in space.

  13. honeypie37 Says:

    Update. Okay, maybe not lost in space, but too far for fingertip reach. I think after total hysterectomy, even though you no longer have a cervix or uterus, only fallopian tubes attached to? I know the doctor told me, but I had a hard time imagining it and forgot. I believe you have a “vagina cuff” that had a definate ending. Still, go with any type of balls on a string to be on the safe side.

  14. honeypie37 Says:

    Looked it up. Fallopian tubes and ovaries are attached to ligaments. Still confused. Have fun with your balls on a string. They will help strenghten your pelvic muscles and prevent any possible vaginal prolapse – which sounds horrifying!

  15. Anonymous Says:

    wow u gorls have all the fun

  16. Anonymous Says:

    i have an IUD inserted, is it safe to use the balls?

  17. Allison Tesch Says:

    .

  18. Scotsman Ice Machine Says:

    Scotsman Ice Machine…

    […]What the Heck are Ben Wa Balls? «[…]…

  19. cockring vibrant Says:

    cockring vibrant…

    […]What the Heck are Ben Wa Balls? «[…]…

  20. ses Says:

    just borght a set and just wondering where is the best position as i getting so overwelmed and not shore if i am doing it right. help please

  21. barbara Says:

    I just put a pair in and dnt think they are wotking…. I can’t feel or hear them…could something be wrong with me?

  22. www.glassdoor.com Says:

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a fantastic job
    with this. Additionally, the blog loads very fast for me on Chrome.

    Excellent Blog!

  23. milagro para El Embarazo (tm) por lisa olson Says:

    Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  24. ZoeyZondi Says:

    Okay so I now have my gold metal ming balls! What a difference! okay, I don’t know about the sex (dry season), but the first time I inserted them, they just plonked in! 4 weeks weeks later, I have to use my finger to make sure that they go all the way to the back. At first I could barely keep them in for 3 minutes whilst standing! Now I can do 15 minutes …up to 30 minutes if I’m dry. I still feel like I have a long way to go. I won’t dare go outside with them! I dont miss a single day of exersise, sometimes up to 5 sessions a day! I am so imapitient (lol). Will keep you updated BenWA friends!

  25. miracle garcinia cambogia reviews Says:

    Wonderful conquer! I need to apprentice while you change your web site, the best way may i actually subscribe for just a website web site? Your consideration aided me a correct bargain. I have been previously a bit more familiarised of this your current over the air presented stunning distinct concept

  26. pure garcinia cambogia Says:

    Even for younger people, today’s fast paced living leaves few time to exercise or eat healthy. So many people have been turning to Pure Garcinia Cambogia, a clinically tested, all natural diet supplement made from an Asian fruit called Garcinia Cambogia. This fantastic fruit contains natural weight loss properties by boosting your metabolism to the same levels you had when you were a teenager and helps shrink stubborn fat cells around your belly, thighs and waistline. The best part of Garcinia Cambogia weight loss is you don’t need to change your diet or daily routine, and there are no side effects whatsoever. Talk about the best invention ever!

  27. online Says:

    Appreciation to my father who shared with me concerning this web site,
    this web site is really remarkable.

  28. Anonymous Says:

    How far should the ben wa balls be inserted to be effected?

  29. anonymous Says:

    Ok so i got my balls a couple weeks back i like them lots. Highly recommended! However, the other night i fell asleep with them in… by time i realized on potty next day it had been some time they were in there. They came out with a tarnished appearance? Was this reaction normal? Am i ok for having them in me? Can they be used still? Should i get a silver tarnish(mine are silver plated)? Should i get new ones?

  30. Stephanie Nel Says:

    I am a Pure Romance Consultant and I sell BenWa Balls and we were told that ladies that has had a Full Hysterectomy should use our Personal trainer as it has a string attached rather than the BenWa Balls (loose balls) as they do not have a cervix anymore, so basically to keep the balls within the vaginal cavity…

    One of my customers (a surgeon) said this to me
    “”They close off the end when they do the hysterectomy, giving you a “blind vagina” that doesn’t lead anywhere – otherwise you’d be dead long ago from peritonitis!”” So why can’t woman with Full Hysterectomies use Benwa Balls – I was honest and told her I have no idea but would try to find out?

    Can anyone tell me factually if it can or can’t be used if a woman has had Full Hysterectomy?

  31. العملاق Says:

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up?

    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be
    greatly appreciated. Thank you

  32. book search Says:

    Hi there colleagues, how is the whole thing, and what you want to say about this article, in my view its actually remarkable designed for me.

  33. comment-153716 Says:

    comment-153716

    What the Heck are Ben Wa Balls? |

  34. Theron Says:

    Hi, you post interesting articles on your page, you can get much more visits, just search in google for – augo’s tube traffic

Leave a Reply

